New PA Car Seat Law

Attn: New Legislation to be Enacted Affecting All Current and Future Child Care Providers!

Effective August 12, 2016, children under 2 years will be required by Pennsylvania law to ride in a rear-facing car seat when being transported in a vehicle. If a child under age 2 has outgrown the maximum height and weight limitations of the child's rear-facing car seat, a child would be permitted to transition to a forward-facing seat before the child's second birthday.

The new law reflects best practice by the American Academy of Pediatrics when it comes to supporting the head, neck and spine of infants and toddlers in the event of a crash.  The current requirements that all children under 4 years of age are restrained in an approved child passenger restraint system, and children between 4 and 9 years of age are restrained in a booster seat have not been changed. 

The new legislation is an amendment of 75 Pa. C.S. § 4581 of the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code, relating to restraint systems. This law is reflected in 55 Pa. Code § 3270.175(a) of the Child Care Regulations, pertaining to safety restraints. 

Please GO to the Pennsylvania General Assembly for the specific legislation regarding this bill:

Any questions regarding this new legislation can be directed toward the regional office that regulates childcare in your area. In order to locate the county in which your child care facility is located, please download the PDF

 

Powered by jms multisite for joomla